Coming Soon: Horrors of the Living Dead


By Woofer McWooferson

Good news for zombie fans – George A. Romero is putting together an anthology of zombie tales set in the days around his 1978 genre favorite Night of the Living Dead. Though he's said that he never intended to redefine the zombie and was, instead, featuring ghouls, redefine it he did. Gone were the living zombies created only to do their masters' bidding, and in were the mindless undead creatures whose only desire was to consume human flesh. And we loved it.

George A. Romero as seen in the documentary "Birth of the Living Dead."

George A. Romero as seen in the documentary "Birth of the Living Dead."


John A. Russo

John A. Russo

The anthology is tentatively titled Horror of the Living Dead (some are reporting it as Nights of the Living Dead) and will take place in the 48 hours surrounding the events in Night of the Living Dead. Fellow Night of the Living Dead writer John A. Russo will be contributing as well as many other writers, including:

-Jay Bonansinga: Winner of the Chicago International Film Festival Silver Plaque (1988) and Houston International Film Festival Gold Remi (2007).

-Sandra Brown & Ryan Brown: Sandra is a winner of the International Thriller Writers Award, and Ryan is the author of the zombie sports novel Play Dead as well as the scifi western Thawed Out & Fed Up.

-Mike Carey: Author of multiple comic books and novels.

-Keith R.A. DeCandido: Prolific science fiction and fantasy writer who has written comic books, novels, role-playing games, video games, and countless media tie-in books.

-Mira Grant (a/k/a Seanan McGuire): Winner of the John W. Campbell Award, the Hugo Award, several Pegasus Awards, and a member of the Darrell Awards Hall of Fame.

-Brian Keene: Two time Bram Stoker Award winner.

-Joe R. Lansdale: Ten time Bram Stoker Award winner.

-Jonathan Maberry: Eight time Bram Stoker Award winner.

-Isaac Marion: Author of Warm Bodies, the New York Times bestselling zombie novel which was  made into a successful movie of the same name.

-Joe McKinney: Double Bram Stoker Award winner.

-Neal Shusterman & Brendan Shusterman: Neal is a 2005 Boston Globe–Horn Book Award (2005), California Young Reader Medal (2008), and the National Book Award (2015). Brendan, his son, is a frequent collaborator.

-David Wellington: Best known for his Monster (zombie) trilogy.

-Chuck Wendig: Prolific author of everything from short stories to comics to novels.

The book will be published by Griffin and should be out in early 2017.

Posted by Alan Smithee

Leave a Reply